RSCC’s Sharon Wilson is new Chamber president

Sharon Wright Wilson

Sharon Wright Wilson, director of Roane State Community Collegeís Huntsville campus, has been elected president of the Scott County Chamber of Commerce for 2023.

Wilson was elected by unanimous vote of the Chamber of Commerceís board of directors at Thursdayís annual meeting, after being recommended for the position by the Chamberís nominating committee.

Wilson succeeds Sheneka Burchfield, marketing director at First National Bank, who handed over the gavel to Wilson near the conclusion of Thursdayís annual meeting.

Burchfield was subsequently elected to serve as treasurer of the Chamber of Commerce, replacing Plateau Electric Cooperativeís Jacob Billingsley, who is stepping away from the Chamberís board of directors after a long-time stint as the organizationís treasurer.

Independent Herald publisher Ben Garrett was elected vice president of the Chamber.

The president oversees board meetings, appoints committee chairpersons, and works hand-in-hand with the Chamber of Commerceís executive director to accomplish the organizationís goals.

At Thursdayís meeting, the Chamber of Commerce also welcomed new company representatives: Angel Sexton, representing the Childrenís Center of the Cumberlands, Mayor Jerried Jeffers, representing Scott County Government, and Justin Cross and Dustin Lay, representing The Highland Connection.

Thursdayís meeting was dedicated to the memory of two members of the Chamber of Commerceís board of directors who have passed away this month: Kellie Walker and Diann Stephens.

More articles ―